Google Photos’ Locked Folder is now easier to find

AH Google Photos Editing Tools

The Google Photos app is getting a tweak that will allow you to find your Locked Folder faster. Now it is available in fewer taps from the “Library” tap. Google also moved the “Utilities” shortcut functions to another location.

As its name suggests, the Locked Folder allows you to store photos and videos that you don’t want to be accessible to others. Content you save in this folder will not be available in any other folder in the app. They won’t even appear among the results of the Google Photos search bar. Of course, even if someone else finds the folder, they will need to authenticate with a passcode.

Google Photos’ Locked Folder new location makes access faster

Now, the Locked Folder is available from the Google Photos shortcuts section for faster access. It replaces the “Utilities” one, displaying next to “Favorites,” “Archive,” and “Trash.” Previously, you could find the folder by going to Library tab > Utilities > Organize Your Library. It is possible that some people prefer the previous location of the option since it better hides the existence of the folder. However, the new approach is in line with the Google Photos web version, where the Locked Folder is available alongside all the other main options.

Regarding the functions that were previously available in “Utilities,” you can now use them by tapping the “+” button next to your profile photo. There you will see two main sections: “Create” (Album, Collage, Highlight video, Cinematic photo, Animation) and “Get photos” (with tools to share photos, or import them from other places).

 

Screenshot 20240703 155106
Screenshot 20240703 155155

Screenshot 20240703 155106
Screenshot 20240703 155155

The new UI is available in the Google Photos Android app with the 6.89 update (also on iOS). Previously, the company had already added the “Sync” option for your Locked Folder. This option, as its name suggests, allows you to have your Locked Folder available on all your devices. “Sync” prevents situations such as accidentally losing the content after migrating devices without having backed up first.

The post Google Photos’ Locked Folder is now easier to find appeared first on Android Headlines.